Uncategorized · Writing Tips

Writing Tip: Hook the Reader in the First Line

th (3)

You don’t have much time. You need to work fast. Your article or book or whatever it is you are writing to engage a reader/ audience must tease them from the get-go so that they are craving s’more.

I recently spoke to a business group in Newburyport, MA. I spoke about how to get your reader’s attention. I started out my talk with the first line in an article I wrote that was published in Salon.com and reprinted in Working Mother magazine 35th anniversary a few months back. Here is a link. The first line is a hook and bait. Here it is: I didn’t mean to put the tampons in my seven-year-old son’s backpack.

Gotcha.

http://www.workingmother.com/mom-stories/big-switch

Remember, you must come up with something clever, funny, gripping, frightening, shocking, intriguing…. And it must be well-written. Have fun with your ideas.  I come up with my first line or first paragraph (or ledes, in journalism it is called a lede, not a lead) while running or walking the beach. Or driving. Make your words dance.

Leave a Reply

